INDIA G20 POLITICS DIPLOMACY 0 1694072136643 1694072158837 The Pearl Dream Inc

G20 agrees to grant permanent membership to African Union: Report

Ahead of the G20 Summit, the member nations of the group have agreed to grant permanent membership to the African Union, a continental body of 55 member states, Bloomberg agency news reported. With this, the African Union has earned the same status as the European Union.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi had written a letter to the G20 nations in which he proposed that the African Union be given full, permanent membership of the bloc at the upcoming summit in New Delhi. Countries like Germany, Brazil, and Canada have also expressed their support for African Union membership to the G20.

Read all the LIVE updates on G20 here

At present, the G20 group comprises 19 countries and the European Union.

Besides, the G20 this year has also invited nine non-member countries, including Bangladesh, Singapore, Spain, and Nigeria, and international organisations such as the United Nations, World Health Organization, the World Bank, and the IMF on the 9 and 10 September Summit.

The inclusion of African Unions into G20 is expected to be announced during the weekends. Mint could not independently confirm the news.

Also read: Elevating consumer protection on G20 agenda for a balanced future


The world’s 20 major countries formed an economic grouping after the Asian financial crisis in 1999 with the understanding that such crises could no longer be contained within a nation’s borders and required better international economic cooperation.

The bloc currently accounts for 80% of global gross domestic production (GDP) and 75% of international trade.

Also read: From Chatpati Chaat to millet: World leaders to be served with ‘all-veg’ menu at G20 Summit 2023 in Delhi


The G20 members include Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union.


India’s G20 theme is derived from the Sanskrit phrase “Vasudhaiva Kutumbakam” which translates to “The World is One Family”.


Under India’s year-long presidency, the bloc has centred discussions around more loans to developing nations from multilateral institutions, reforming international debt architecture, regulations on cryptocurrency and the impact of geopolitical uncertainties on food and energy security.

Related Premium Stories

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.


Updated: 07 Sep 2023, 01:10 PM IST

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *