Akinwumi20adesina The Pearl Dream Inc

‘Adesina, Muhtar, Nwuneli’— UN appoints Nigerians among leaders to fight malnutrition

The United Nations (UN) has appointed Akinwunmi Adesina,
Mansur Muhtar and Ndidi Nwuneli, among global leaders to spearhead the fight
against malnutrition.


Adesina is a former minister of agriculture in Nigeria and
president of the African Development Bank; Muhtar is vice president of Islamic
Development Bank and Nwuneli is executive chair, Sahel Consulting Agriculture
& Nutrition.


The trio are among 22 global leaders appointed under the
scaling up nutrition (SUN) movement, and will work towards improving global
food security.


According to the UN, some three billion people – almost half
of all humanity – cannot afford a healthy diet, while two-thirds of children lack
the diverse diets they need to thrive.


António Guterres, UN secretary general, said the appointment
of the leaders was timely as malnutrition is fast becoming a global crisis.


“I believe that the approach of the SUN movement to tackle malnutrition
through a country-owned multi-sectoral and multistakeholder approach is more
crucial than ever before,” he said.


“These global leaders are championing country-led efforts to
scale up nutrition and to deliver for girls, boys and their families a world
free from malnutrition by 2030.”


The SUN movement is dedicated to nutrition action and
collaboration, including helping countries to implement policies towards a
systemic approach that provides access to a healthy diet.


Members of the movement include representatives from 65
countries, four Indian states, over 4,000 civil society organisations and 1,400
businesses (including small and medium enterprises), 16 UN agencies,
international finance institutions, donor governments, and philanthropies
funding nutrition.


Here is a full list of the appointed global leaders:


Nigeria – Akinwumi Adesina, president, African Development


United Arab Emirates – Mariam Amheiri, Minister of climate
change and environment.


Sweden – Inger Ashing, CEO, Save the Children International.


Philippines – Cherrie Atilano, CEO and president, AGREA
Agricultural Systems International, Inc.


United States – Cindy McCain, executive director, World Food


Cameroon – Martin Chungong, secretary-general, Inter-
Parliamentary Union.


Barbados – Pierre Cooke Jr., prime minister, Barbados youth
parliament and technical advisor, Healthy Caribbean Coalition, Barbados.


Angola – Josefa Leonel, CORREIA SACKO, commissioner,
agriculture, rural development, blue economy and sustainable environment,
African Union Commission.


El Salvador – Gabriela de Bukele, first lady, presidency.


Kenya – Githinji Gitahi, CEO, AMREF Health Africa.


Ireland – Sophie Healy-thow, global youth campaigns
coordinator, Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition.


Nigeria – Mansur Muhtar, vice-president, Islamic Development


United Kingdom – David Nabarro, strategic director, 4SD,
special envoy of WHO DG on COVID19, co-lead, UN global crisis response group


Pakistan – Sania Nishtar, member of senate and president of
Heartfile NGO.


Nigeria – Ndidi Nwuneli, executive chair, Sahel Consulting
Agriculture & Nutrition.


Mexico – Alfredo Rimoch, CEO, Laboratorios Liomont.


US – Catherine Russell, executive director, UNICEF.


Canada – Harjit Sajjan, minister of international
development & minister responsible for the Pacific Economic Development
Agency of Canada.


Netherlands – Feike Sijbesma, honorary chairman of Royal


Norway – Gunhlid Stordalen, founder and president, EAT


Colombia – Juan Pablo Uribe, global director for health
nutrition and population & director of the Global Financing Facility for
women, children and adolescents (GFF), World Bank.


Finland – Jutta Urpilainen, commissioner for international
partnerships, European Commission.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *